SMX questions.

New to the Club? Say 'Hello' here :)

SMX questions.

Postby jimmy99 » Thu Jan 07, 2010 3:00 pm

Hi everyone,

I am looking to buy a used 1997 SMX; they look awesome! But I am a
little worried about the problems I may face with them as they are an
import car. Will I experience difficulties when dealing with garages
for servicing and obtaining spare parts?

I have been told that many garages get scared off as soon as they
realise it is an import car.

This is my first car purchase so I have very little experience of
what's involved with car ownership. Because of this my family is
advising me not to get an SMX, they think it will cause too many
problems and recommend buying a more standard and much more common
hatchback car like a Clio or Fiesta. They also say it will cost a lot
more to insure ,tax and to get work done to it. But I really love the
look of the SMX, the camper capabilities, the affordable price of them
as used cars, and what I have heard about Honda reliability.

I will be relying on this car to get me to and from my place of work,
so waiting around for spare parts would be a big problem for me. I
have read that it is pretty much a CRV with a different shell, so
engine parts and the like shouldn't be too hard to come by. However,
is it not extremely difficult to get hold of replacement body panels
and anything else that is unique to the SMX?

The one I am looking to buy is an automatic LowDown version for £2300.

PS. Do the LowDown models experience problems with going over speed
bumps and dealing with dodgy country roads?

Thanks very much.
J
jimmy99

Re: SMX questions.

Postby hondahead » Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:49 pm